I Cut The Tea This Morning.

Have you ever cut tea?

When I was a child my grandmother, who lived just down the hill from us, grew spearmint on the east side of their house. On cold, wintry mornings Mama used to tell one of us children to run down to Grandpa’s to cut tea for breakfast. I was always glad when I was the one who could do that job. I know I always took longer than necessary because I enjoyed sitting in the cool morning sunshine and listening to the earth wake itself up while I cut tea.

Back then I didn’t realize that other people didn’t cut tea. It wasn’t until I was a grown woman with children when I discovered that expression was not normal. I made a comment to a friend that I needed to cut my tea. I was met with a strange look – sort of a look of suprise and curiosity and amusement all in one. Suddenly I realized how rediculous that must have sounded – “need to cut my tea.” Quickly I explained that I didn’t need to cut my tea, I needed to cut my MINT for TEA!

image

I cut my tea this morning. I’ve washed and picked out all the grass, and now its drying in the utility room on the washer, dryer, and freezer. This afternoon I’ll bag it in small sandwich bags and then put them into a glass jar before putting them into the freezer. Each sandwich bag of mint will make around 2 qts. of good mint tea.

6 thoughts on “I Cut The Tea This Morning.

    • I hope you can grow some mint some time so you can “cut the tea.” Its not hard at all to grow because its an herb and herbs almost grow without care. Once when I decided I didn’t want my mint growing at the spot at the east end of the house any longer and moved a few plants to the east side of the pumphouse, I ran the garden tiller through the existing bed, believing I was tilling it under for good. How wrong I was! The mint LOVED having its back scratched like that and when it grew back it completely took over that end of the yard. If you don’t have a yard to plant herbs in, they do well in pots. I grow a lot of kitchen herbs on my porch in all sorts of pots.

      Thanks for liking this post. I liked finding your comment.

      Like

    • Oh good. I’m glad we weren’t the only ones talking funny. Maybe that’s a dutch way of speaking. We were one of the first Mennonites to move into this area and I used to sell dutch (Pennsylvania Dutch) to my classmates for a penny a’piece. I only had to sell three words to have enough money to buy a chocolate milk at recess. Our dutchy way of talking often brought strange looks. I remember having my teacher completly baffled when I insisted we “sein the milk.” (Meaning we strain the milk right after milking the cow.) To her it sounded as though we did something very unusual to make the milk sane.

      Like

Leave a Reply

