Rich Poverty

God thinks nothing of money. When Jesus advised the rich young ruler to sell what he had and give it to the poor He indicated that having too much money could actually be a hindrance. (Mt. 19:16-30)

image
Beggars at my daughter’s window.

Jesus said it is hard for the rich to enter the Kingdom of God. Why do we try so hard, then, to become rich? If we have more possessions than we need, maybe its time to cut some the weight of it away. Maybe if we don’t have much it’s still time to cut some of it away. They say you don’t miss what you give to others.

image

If we really wanted to live like Jesus did, what would we own?

image

These thoughts help me to not want this Fiestaware as much. 🙂 Recently I walked through an upscale department store with brand names I’d never heard of and prices to match. As I browsed among what I thought of as “real stuff for real people” I began trying to pretend that everything was free and I could take home anything I wanted. The only things I would have wanted to take home were these colorful dishes and an equally colorful KitchenAid mixer. I had to chuckle at myself because if it came right down to it I’d be embarressed to let people see them in my kitchen. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Rich Poverty

Leave a Reply

