The Wolf at Our Door

Normally, I do not comment about politics but I have to mention it now to make my point, so bear with me. Also, this post is clearly directed toward fellow Christians, so if you are not a Christian, what I have to say may not make much sense to you, (but I still invite you to stay and read if you wish. )

I believe there is a global shift of negative and angry sentiment toward Christianity, and that the persecution of true, Bible-believing Christians is escalating and about to affect most of us. I believe the persecution here in America will be very swift, sudden and grievous and that no matter who occupies the Oval Office, he will make little difference in stopping the Wolf at our door. He may have some impact at either slowing the Wolf down or speeding him up, but the Wolf is much, much bigger than the U.S. government. However, he is not bigger than Jesus, and it is in Him that we Christians must place our faith, trust, and hope.

There are ways we can prepare for grievous times. Below are three of them:

1. Spend much time in prayer for prayer is touching the very face of God. When we suffer, it will be for our love for Him, and we cannot love someone we don’t really know.

2. Hide God’s Word in your heart. The Word is our power grid through which we sift life’s circumstances to find kernels of Truth. Truth sets us free from fear and sin. We can’t expect to rise above temptations if we haven’t armed ourselves with God’s Word.

3. Do not be afraid. Think of this battle as your Red Sea with your toes at the water’s edge, your staff outstretched and the water parting for you so you can cross the impossible flood on dry ground. Running away will carry you right back into the hands of the Wolf but walking forward in faith will carry you to a place of peace, joy and love.

image

The photo above is our county courthouse, but in this post it symbolizes all governmennts.

Fear of government is very real, and if truth be told, is the reason I’m writing this post. I’m not fearful for myself, but for my grandchildren. They are so sweet and pure and full of so much happiness.

image

My father felt the same fear when he was a teenager and had actually made the decision (which I’m glad he forgot as soon as he met my mother) that he would not marry so he wouldn’t father any children who would have to suffer persecution for their faith. That was when the Wolf was communism and the Cold War was America’s greatest political threat.

When I was only a young mother someone told me they were certain our children would be taken from us and raised by the government. I was so afraid I trembled. But, when I was pregnant with our youngest child, I was encouraged one Sunday as we were singing the song, “He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands.” Tears welled up in my eyes at the words, “He’s got the tiny little baby/ in His hands….” Yes, I could trust my unborn child to God, along with my three older children, and I did. Today that baby is a mother of two little ones and expecting her third and I still trust in the words of that song. God has every one of His children in His hands, no matter if they are African, Iraqi, Italian, Scandanavian, Columbian, Honduran, or American. The whole world is in God’s hands.

Let the Wolf snarl and bite and try to devour us; he will fail because God is good and good is greater than evil. No man or government can rob us of God’s gifts of grace: love, joy, peace, faith, gentleness, goodness, because our hope is not based upon the comforts of life. Our hope is in God alone. He will never leave us or forsake us – ever! And that gives me hope for my grandchildren.

Postscript: Let me clarify that governments are God-given protection for citizens. I don’t wish to convey anti-government beliefs. But I do believe governments are often used by evil factions to execute their agendas, which is confirmed in Ephesians 6:12, “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.”

I also believe that no matter what our government exacts from us, no matter what they believe about God, we are under Biblical instruction to pray for them, intercede for our leaders, and to give thanks for them. This is good and acceptable in the sight of God. (1 Tim. 2:1,2)

2 thoughts on “The Wolf at Our Door

  1. No truer words ever spoken! It is a scary time we are living in and I have to keep reminding myself where to keep my focus and not fear. Thank you for this post, Jewel!

    Joan

  2. Excellent post and timely given the events of this past week. Through our circumstances, God has taught us not to walk in fear as we once did. “For I know whom I have believed in and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” Blessings.

Leave a Reply

