Prayers for Memorization; Jeremiah

Lately I’ve been blessed by prayers in the Bible and plan to post some of them from time to time. I’ll condense them to make them easier to memorize.

Here’s the first one, sort of stuck in the middle of the prophet, Jeremiah’s, grief over God’s people who had backslidden. It spoke to me personally, encouraging me to allow God to direct me in a difficult situation instead of focusing on my own opinions and desires. To focus on myself is usually an accident-waiting-to-happen.

“O LORD, I know that the way of man is not in himself, it is not in man that walketh to direct his steps.”

Jeremiah 10: 23

My own interpretation of this prayer:

My ways of looking at life are mostly formed by my personal experiences, so that’s how I order my steps. God looks at life from an eternal perspective – like viewing everyone’s experiences, good and bad, and knowing exactly the outcome of events, circumstances, and emotions beforehand. Imagine viewing my life through the lens of all of my personal experiences yesterday, today, and tomorrow combined, and then multiplying them by the sands of the sea. And I think I’m smart? God is way smarter! I really, truly want Him to direct my steps.

image

One thought on “Prayers for Memorization; Jeremiah

Leave a Reply

