A FEW of My Favorite Things

Oh yes, I love raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens but I also love Pinterest, and the Duck Commander Robertson  family, and old flannel anything. I especially love a young-looking, white-haired man who enjoys motorcycles as much as I do. I love little arms around my neck squeezing as hard as they can, and Romans chapter six. Add anything lemon or anything coconut and I’m “happy, happy, happy.” (Quoting Phil Robertson of the Duck Commander family.)

image

Have I mentioned that my favorite color is yellow?

I love Christian radio. When I’m alone, especially when there’s a lot of work to do, I crank up the volume to match the size of the job. My children often caution me about blowing speakers, and I have to admit, some of them do turn fuzzy after a while. Here are a few of my favorite Christian radio stations. I enjoy LIFE FM Gippsland in Australia, The Gospel Voice in the Wilderness in Alaska, and, of course, always positive, encouraging K-LOVE. I listen to many stations online but these are among my favorites.

image

I love books – the feel of them, the smell of old and new pages, the thoughts found in them and the power of words on paper – something only the human race is capable of creating. Have you ever considered the miracle of that, how down through the history of time people have written down their thoughts and emotions, opinions and dreams? They’ve preached their own sermons from their pen and paper pulpits and turned entire generations toward their slant on things? And have you ever picked up a book, especially old ones, and marveled that you are able to read the author’s thoughts from their world and translate it to yours? That is the miracle of communication through books.

I collect old Bibles and old dictionaries. Don’t ask me why because I don’t have room for them, but some things beg to be collected and stored and boxed away and somehow preserved, and I believe I’m the one called to do that. (Tongue in cheek.)

I have a large stack of favorite books and wouldn’t want to pick one in particular and say, “This is my all-time fave,” but if push comes to shove it’s not difficult to pick it. Stepping Heavenward, by Elizabeth Prentiss, is the one. It’s a candid diary of a woman’s journey through life as she sought to always step heavenward, through girlhood, motherhood, illness, grief and widowhood. I’ve read and re-read this book many times and read it on tape for my father to listen to. It may be a feminine voice speaking through the pages but I highly recommend this book even to men if you desire a greater understanding of the feminine heart.

image

I love technology but my favorite tool is undoubtedly my smart phone. It connects me to the internet wherever I go. That is especially important to me because its my only connection to all of our children. They are scattered over the western hemisphere and the internet is our way of staying in touch. We have our own secret family group in Facebook where we all congregate daily in our virtual family livingroom, prop up our feet and laugh and share pictures and vent and pray and cry together – all together – even though we are thousands and thousands of miles apart, living in different time zones and vastly different climates and cultures.

My phone is also my camera. At least 90% of everything I do in this blog is done with my phone, from snapping the photos to editing to posting them in here. They’re not as good as the real thing, but I’m still thankful for what I have. If it wasn’t for my phone I wouldn’t be able to blog.

image

I kid you not, these are only a few of my favorite things.

4 thoughts on “A FEW of My Favorite Things

  1. Lovely post, Jewel!! So glad I found your blog 🙂 Somehow in the craziness that is life, it slipped my mind that you are a writer and that I should keep up with your writings :). I have safely bookmarked the log and will be back. Love and prayers, Eileen

    Like

Leave a Reply

