God’s Word, Our Comfort

In my journal, dated 9/19/07, I recorded the comfort the Holy Spirit gave me when I was fearful for my daughter and granddaughter overseas. They were riding public buses from a community about six hours from their home and I was afraid for their safety. There had been a rash of really terrible robberies and killings on public buses and “rich Americans” were often the target. To say that it was all I could think about that day is not an exaggeration.

So I went to my chair and implored of my Jesus for help. After telling Him of my fears I opened up my Bible and asked the Spirit to lead me to the words He had already chosen for that situation and these are the words He took me to:

“Ps. 119:114, You are my hiding place and my shield. I hope in Your Word.

I dropped down to verse 116: “Uphold me according to Thy Word that I may live.

I slowly turned the page. Verse 147: “I rise before the dawning of the morning and cry for help. I hope in Your Word.

Across the page at verse 165: “Great peace have they who love Thy Law (God’s Word) and nothing causes them to stumble.”

My husband visited our daughter and granddaughter (whom our daughter is adopting) recently. Here is a photo of him with our granddaughter (on the right) and her little sister. (Her grandmother cares for her.)

20130415-082841.jpg

One thought on “God’s Word, Our Comfort

Leave a Reply

