My Preacher

20130903-131832.jpg

At home alone for the weekend with no vehicle, and our children had their own plans for the day, made the perfect opportunity for me to have my own church in the grove of oak trees behind our house. It had been a long time since I’d observed communion with only my Lord to preach and serve me the sacraments, so I was excited about it. I dressed all up in pure white from head to toe, set a nice communion service on the picnic table and then waited expectantly for the Pastor to come. It seemed fitting that I stand for the entire service.

20130903-132541.jpg

Isaiah 53 was His text. His voice was both warm and kind, and strong and victorious. It brought tears to my eyes.

20130903-133032.jpg

The Sabbath

Some people keep the Sabbath going to church.
I keep it staying at home,
with a bobolink for a chorister
and an orchard for a dome.

God preaches – a noble clergyman,
and His sermons are never long…….
So instead of getting to Heaven at last, I’m going all along.

By Emily Dickinson

########################################################################################

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FOLLOWING AD.

One thought on “My Preacher

Leave a Reply

