Our Mid-life Crisis

Four different times I picked up our rotary dial telephone and heard these words, “Mom, don’t panic, but I just had a wreck.”

My immediate thoughts would always be that my teens were calling me and sounding as though they were ok so why panic? But when I would see their vehicles, all mangled up, windows busted out, one lying on its side, then I would feel panicky. Miracles happen all the time and we so quickly forget about them.

Tonight we drove down this country road where our son had one of his bad car wrecks when his crew of workmen met another vehicle blowing around a blind spot in the road and plowed head-on into them.

20130907-204613.jpg

Our minds went back 20 years to those days. Our eldest daughter had cancer and was involved in a bad car wreck only a few weeks after finishing up a bone marrow transplant. Less than a week later her brother was involved in another car accident out on the main highway (a different one from the one I mentioned above.) Always they and others involved, were miraculously unhurt. It’s quite understandable why they call those years a crisis. Our Mid-life Crisis.

I thank God that He truly does not leave us or forsake us – not during cancer and not during our teen’s car wrecks.

##############################################################

3 thoughts on “Our Mid-life Crisis

  1. MW, so often we focus on the negative events in our lifes and take the miracles fore-granted. Thank you for the reminder to give thanks.
    And thanks for enjoying my post ‘Lunch Gone Bad.’

    Like

  2. It’s been on my mind a lot too. Maybe because on Sept. 3 it was 20 years since your first diagnosis. You were 14 and I was 37. Amazing how much has happened these past twenty years. Things could sure be different from what they are if God hadnt had mercy on us. I’m so thankful for the extra time we’ve had.

    Like

  3. I think every day this month I have been thinking about my cancer. Not something I like to think about but I’ve been struck with it time and time again of the miracle of healing to my body. Interesting that you have this post right now as one more reminder. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

