Craving Attention?

20140117-104949.jpg

During most of 2001 I was on treatments for a very aggressive kind of breast cancer. Unknown to me, shortly after I was diagnosed one of my sisters (I have four,) sent 183 index cards to over 100 friends and family members. They then decorated them scrapbook-style for me. On both the fronts and backs of each card she had printed a date and then when they were returned to her she assembled them in a beautiful Amish-made wooden holder to create a perpetual calendar.

Today, thirteen years later, I still anticipate turning to the next card each morning to see who left something for me. This morning its from my parents. Like usual, it makes me chuckle.

20140117-105808.jpg

“Laugh, and the world laughs with you…
Complain, and you get a lot more attention!”

😀

In spite of my chuckling over this it also made me teary because Daddy went to Heaven in September (2013.)

20140118-100115.jpg

I miss him more every day but I know he’s having a blessed time singing praises to the King of kings around The Throne of Grace, and because of that hope I feel only happiness for him.

And Mama? I’m thankful she’s still here with us. My grandchildren absolutely adore her. She’s so sweet and I love her humor.

20140118-100352.jpg

################################################################

Leave a Reply

