Take A Funny Break

At a Methodist church there were two long-time members who died not too far apart; first it was Mary and then it was Edna. To print up the order of service for Edna’s funeral the church secretary merely opened the document in the computer of Mary’s funeral and set the speller to search and replace “Mary” with “Edna.” The bulletins were printed and all was well until toward the end of the funeral service the Apostles Creed was recited. Imagine the consternation of the congregation when they said in unison, “……born of the Virgin Edna.”

* From Shaeffer’s Chapel monthly newsletter, a Methodist Congregation, Columbus, MS.

20140115-093641.jpg

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

And now that I’ve shared my thoughts and inspirations from the first seven chapters of the book of Jeremiah, I’m going to take a break. Getting back to blogging reminded me of the reason I struggled with it last fall. My iPhone is my only Internet access so I rely on the WordPress app to blog. Posting ahead used to be a snap and I’d schedule posts to go up every other day for months ahead. Then one sad day, I updated the app and among the improvements was a new glitch in editing a scheduled post. Editing is the way you do things. You write it down and let it age a few days, come back and revise and tweak, cut and paste, and flesh out the bones a little at a time. After a while it meets your approval and hopefully, that stage is reached before the scheduled posting. It’s all in a days work! But now, its really work!

##############################################################################

3 thoughts on “Take A Funny Break

  1. You made me laugh at the last line. Funny post.
    I totally agree about editing, MW. Writing, at least mine, needs to age like cheese so I can scrape the green mold off before serving.

    Like

Leave a Reply

