The Value of My Life

Lives of ease and pleasure are worthless! Does that shock us?

20140522-064923.jpg

I’m burdened, heartbroken and completely shocked at the terrible, terrible persecutions that thousands and possibly even millions of Christians are suffering today. Atrocities too awful to think about make me shudder and weep. And pray. And pray again. And again.

20140522-065447.jpg

Acts 20:24; “But none of these things move me (persecutions,) neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry which I have received of The Lord Jesus, to testify the Gospel of the grace of God. ”

What better time and more meaningful way to testify of God’s grace than when we are being supported and strengthened by it?

.

Is there a method to help us prepare for persecution?

20140522-070358.jpg

Ecclesiastes 12:1; “Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth – while the evil days come not…..”

We prepare for persecution by remembering our Creator while the good times roll.

################################################################

3 thoughts on “The Value of My Life

  1. Yes, His grace is always sufficient. The Scripture in Ecclesiastes was what our Sunday school lesson was about last Sunday and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. I guess with the terrible beating Saeed Abedini received this week and the many other Christians who Are in prison for their faith, it drives me to the Word for comfort and to know how to pray for them.

    Christforgiven, I hope you will be able to minister in the 10/40 window. I have a niece in Thailand who tells of an openness to the Gospel there that we aren’t encountering as much here. No doubt about it, we are living in the end times. That fact is both exciting and makes me feel a little apprehensive at the same time. (Im talking to myself right now and saying, “Oh ye of little faith.”)

  2. It is interesting to me when I look at the early church, I see how God used persecution to effectively spread the gospel through his disciples. People saw how the disciples would give everything including their lives for the sake of Christ, and God used that to show the authenticity of the Gospel. I ask myself sometimes, if our country had persecution what would christianity look like? would it look different? would that diminishes the luke warm state we have in our country today? Persecution is a devasting and horrible thing, I want to be a missionary someday in the 10/40 window so your post encouraged me in this season my my life” while the good times are rolling” to prepare and build my trust in Christ so when and if I serve in a persecuted area I will have let God prepare my heart.

Leave a Reply

