Jeremiah 39; When Times Are Horrible

When judgement falls upon the wicked, God’s AMAZING GRACE upholds the just.

Two lessons to take home from this short, gruesome, and yet encouraging chapter:

1. God’s judgment is always righteous.
2. God always cares for the righteous.

20140531-082121.jpg

Job

Jeremiah

Jesus

Stephen

Polycarp

Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Corrie ten Boom

Joni Eareckson Tada

Saeed Abedini

Asia Bebe

Meriam Ibrihim

The common factor in each of these God-fearing people’s lives is P.A.I.N.

And God?

Where is He?

20140531-082621.jpg

Following are real-time quotes by some of the Christians listed above. When compared with Scripture, they may answer some of our questions concerning horrible times in our lives:

“The Lord gives. The Lord takes away. Blessed be the name of The Lord!” – Job

“Ah, Lord God, thou showest loving kindness unto thousands…..” – Jeremiah

“In this world you will have tribulation, but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” – Jesus Christ, the Son of God

“Father forgive them for the know not what they do.” – Jesus and Stephen

“”Eighty-six years I have served Christ, and He never did me any wrong. How can I blaspheme my King who saved me?” – Polycarp


* source

“When peace like a river attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll,
Whatever my lot, Thou hast caused me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.” – Haratio G. Spafford

“There is no pit so deep that God is not deeper still.” – Corrie ten Boom.

“Oh Lord, Thank You for loving the world so much that You would give Your one and only Son… this is enough to calm my hurts.” – Joni Eareckson Tada

“A Glorious life with Christ starts only after a painful death (to self) with Christ.” – Saeed Abedini

Go here for an inspirational excerpt on this same topic from Corrie ten Boom’s book, The Hiding Place. Its on Voice of the Persecuted’s blog.

20140606-132458.jpg

* I found the poster with Bonhoeffer’s quote on Pinterest but it went to a dead media-cache link. Forgive me, and please inform me, if I’m using it without proper permission.
##################################################################

.

Leave a Reply

