The Sweetness of the Holy Spirit

image

Recently I found a decades-old spiral notebook that had served as my journal during our family’s homeschool era (meaning, that it was during my middle-aged years.) Leafing through it proved to be most interesting and provided me with fresh inspiration and even a few chuckles. Here’s a sampling of the first few pages:

“Miss Bertha (not her real name) keeps encouraging me to pray for the Holy Spirit. In essence she means to pray to be able to speak in tongues. I’m not at all sure of that and am taking a long time to find Scriptures that will give me some direction. So far all I can find is what happens AFTER I’m filled with the Spirit, but nothing about the initial process to be FILLED. That’s very important to me.

Of course, there are the gifts of the Spirit that we acquire once we are filled: love, joy, peace, etc. Those are unmistakable proofs of the Spirit-filled life. Any more?”

image

I’m sort of camped out in the first few chaps of Revelation, where Jesus speaks a long time concerning what the SPIRIT says to the churches. In a short, he urges them to be obedient to the Word of God.”

Being obedient to the Word of God. I do believe that is the key to being filled with the sweetness of the Spirit.”

  1. image

6 thoughts on “The Sweetness of the Holy Spirit

  1. Jewel, I was delighted to receive your email! I’ve missed contact with you since I am away from FB. I loved this post, and you are spot on. Obedience is a sure sign of being filled with the Spirit. Love and delight to you! Denaye

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

    Merciful Words wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com mercifulwords posted: ” Recently I found a decades-old spiral notebook that had served as my journal during our family’s homeschool era (meaning, that it was during my middle-aged years.) Leafing through it proved to be most interesting and provided me with fresh inspiration”

    • Thanks, Denaye. I’m not sure what all that gibberish is about but hopefully it’s not from my hacked email. I found out just today that it’s sending weird emails to my contacts.

Leave a Reply

