Deuteronomy 15

I was the adult ladies' Sunday School teacher this morning. Right off the bat I had several handicaps. First off, I left my Teacher's book at home, and secondly, I also forgot my Bible. But to my advantage, I only had three "students," if you can call adult ladies students, so that helped with the usual nervousness. One of them was my daughter who promptly loaned her Sunday School book to me. (And I forgot to give it back. Some people just never learn.)

But the LESSON! It was so good! Deuteronomy 15!


The Kootenai Valley in Boundary County, Idaho

Deuteronomy15 is part of the script of Moses' final sermon to the fledgling nation of Israel. It goes something like this:

"God has given us instructions to establish the Sabbath year. On every seventh year you must forgive all the debts of your fellow brethren.

His purpose? It's to ensure that we always value the dignity and worth of every human life!

Brethren who have opted to pay their debts by hiring on as slaves to their creditors are to be set free during the Sabbath year.

If a slave does not wish to be set free, but chooses to stay on as a slave for love of his master, he is to be taken to the door of the house and an awl pierced through his ear lobe as a symbol of his love and loyalty."


The Clark Fork River in Montana

What I love about Deuteronomy 15 is the intrinsic value placed on the dignity and worth of every human being.


My granddaughters' sweet little tea party.

But the cherry-on-top of Deuteronomy 15 is the spiritual application of love for our Master. We probably came into God's family, more from a sense of indebtedness without a way to pay, than because of love for Him. And much like the Hebrews who offered themselves as slaves to work out their debts, we offered our hearts to God, too, as a way to clear our debt of sin. But when He set us free from our debt with all of its guilt and shame, and we learned to really know Him and appreciate His awesomeness, we came to truly love Him and are now serving Him out of a sense of deep seated loyalty!

In all truthfulness and humility I can say that I've been to the doorpost and had my ear pierced for Him.


The Badlands in South Dakota

Have you? I hope so.

“Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened….."
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭40:6‬ ‭KJV‬‬
http://bible.com/1/psa.40.6.kjv


Mount Rushmore in South Dakota


The scenery pictures in this post were taken this summer on our road trip through South Dakota, Montana and Idaho.


Hound dogs & Full Moons,
Jewel

Leave a Reply

